Estd: 25-11-1928

Registered: 29-12-1929

The Ishwarananda Mahila Sevashram Society (or I.M.S.Society as it is popularly known) was founded in 1928 by a band of social workers headed by Late Dr. Benegal Raghavendra Rao, for the amelioration of helpless women and children. This institution has been providing among other services, shelter to helpless, destitute and orphan girls, without any discrimination of caste & creed, to make them self-supporting and self-reliant members of the Society. The society was named after Swami Ishwarananda, the name of Sri Kudmul Ranga Rao in his Sanyas Ashram, who was the maternal grandfather of our land donors Late Sri N. Rama Rao & Late Sri N.Shiva Rao.

Well-known and much-respected persons of yester years like Dr. M. Keshav Pai, Naimpally Rama Rao, Tombat Keshava Rao and Arkal Raghavendra Rao, were actively associated with the Society. The munificent donation of 3.5 acres of land at Kankanady, on which our buildings are grouped in 1956. Of this, about 1.25 acre was acquired by the Government for the Kankanady by-pass road. The Society owes its growth mainly to the generosity of the Naimpally brothers. The Managing Committee sincerely thanks all our well-wishers and contributors for the interest they have evinced in the institution and encouraging in discharging its service to needy women and children.

Members of the Managing Committee

Sl.No Name Designation
1 Smt. Laxmi Rao Arror President
2 Smt. Shalini D. Rai Vice-President
3 Smt. Sharad S. Pandit Secretary
4 Smt. Shanthi H. Pai Treasury
5 Smt. Sumathi Ballal Member
6 Smt. Kavitha Shastri Member
7 Smt. Mangala J. Karnad Member
8 Smt. Laxmi Nair Member
9 Smt. Asha Prabhakar Rao Member
10 Smt. Shalini Pandit Member
11 Smt. Vilas J. Shetty Member
12 Smt. Mathura M. Bondal Member
13 Smt. Asha A. Shenoy Member
14 Smt. Laila M. Hegde Member
15 Sri. Subban Shiva Rao Member
16 Sri. S.L. Shanbhogue Member